Sign in to follow this  
Eaton Rifles

Anschutz Tinkering....

So I like Anschutz target rifles of all flavours, had a couple of small-bore ones and in PCP guise a few 2002's and more recently a 9003. I think I like the trigger and cycle the best, it's like putting on your favourite slippers and settling down infront of the telly to watch re-runs of Holly's best howling misses at GP's but anyways I digress....:)

So technical stuff.

You pull the trigger and it goes bang right?

But what if you can make it go bang more consistently and actually improve on what you get from the manufacturer.

Mine is a Jon Harris conversion from 6 to 12fpe and having taken it to bits in order to replace all the o-rings as shock horror they degrade over time, I can attest to Jon's superb engineering with all the extra little bits and bobs that he shoe-horns in there to make it work at double it's intended power level.

But, I'm a tinkerer, a designer by trade and I need to understand stuff, any stuff, how black holes work, but especially how I can improve PCP's to be more consistent in this tightly stretched envelope that we subject them to called Field Target shooting.

After titting about with barrels and specifically barrel and pellet treatments my latest fad is lubes, not the stuff that Holly keeps under his pillow but real lube for guns. I've always struggled with my rifles due to the fact that I like shooting Winter League and that means cold, wet and more cold usually. All of this causes the lubes in the rifles to change, usually for the worse with regard to performance.

So it has been my recent quest to try and find the holy grail and find a lube that is completely inert to temperature and I believe I have found it.

More later....:)

Anyways, I won't drag this out too much as Holly will be needing his coco and beauty sleep...ah what was that DC not enough hours in the night for that...:)