Jump to content

AirGunForum uses cookies. Read the Privacy Policy for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    I accept the use of cookies

Photo

rapid mk1 leak


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 beezergeezer

beezergeezer
  • Member
  • 57 posts
  • Location:erith
  • Interests:fishing,all shooting diserpline
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:kent

Posted 07 November 2007 - 01:48 PM

hi, can any one pleas help, when i shoot my rapid 7 mk1 i get a small puff of air from the left side of the mag, it does not seam to affect the power, as i have cronografd it and its 11.9 with AA field .22 .
is this natural to vent air out the side of the mag,or does the pellet probe need sorting.

hi lads, shimd the probe and reset power, problem sorted. many thanks to all who helped

Edited by beezergeezer, 08 November 2007 - 12:30 PM.


#2 Don

Don

    'The Squirrelbasher'

  • Member.
  • 2,473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Forest, Hampshire, England
  • Interests:Movies, computers, motorbikes (big & fast!), & airgun/rimfire hunting
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:New Forest, Hampshire

Posted 07 November 2007 - 07:16 PM

It's the probe mate, I had the same problem with my MkI a few years ago.

The best solution is to get an adjustable one, and fit that (as I did). Saves having to ever strip it down to tighten up the probes seal with the breech.

Don

#3 beezergeezer

beezergeezer
  • Member
  • 57 posts
  • Location:erith
  • Interests:fishing,all shooting diserpline
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:kent

Posted 07 November 2007 - 07:30 PM

thanks don, pleas can you tell me where to get one

#4 Don

Don

    'The Squirrelbasher'

  • Member.
  • 2,473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Forest, Hampshire, England
  • Interests:Movies, computers, motorbikes (big & fast!), & airgun/rimfire hunting
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:New Forest, Hampshire

Posted 07 November 2007 - 07:48 PM

I got mine direct from Theoben, that should be your first port of call.

Alternatively, you could try sending Sam a PM, and see if he can help.

Don

#5 Guest_Sam_*

Guest_Sam_*
  • Guest

Posted 07 November 2007 - 08:18 PM

Just shim the existing probe, seems an awfull lot of messing and expense changing to the adjustable probe for what is a very straight forward job.

If you've got a blow at the breech and your rifle is running at 11.9 with 16gr Field, its gonna go over when you sort the probe, it would also go over 12 with heavier pellets as things stand, so i'd suggest you adjusted the hammerspring whilst you're at it. awink.gif

#6 Replay

Replay

    Dedicated to stalking DaveL

  • Member.
  • 2,027 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester Area
  • Interests:Computers, Guns, Lathes, Milling Machines.
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:Manchester

Posted 07 November 2007 - 08:32 PM

QUOTE(beezergeezer @ Wed Nov 7 2007, 13:48) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
hi, can any one pleas help, when i shoot my rapid 7 mk1 i get a small puff of air from the left side of the mag, it does not seam to affect the power, as i have cronografd it and its 11.9 with AA field .22 .
is this natural to vent air out the side of the mag,or does the pellet probe need sorting.



Just tighten the probe, that’s usually down to leaking air at the breach.
Note when adjusting the probe on your rapid that there is a Allen key adjustment screw in the side of the hammer, that will need to be loose before adjustment to the main probe can be done.

Don’t worry too much as this is only a locking screw.

As Sam says above, by stopping that leak, by adjusting that probe will make the seal to your barrel a lot better, so adjustments to your hammer spring to bring your gun in line with legal requirements is a must.

rolleyes.gif

Edited by Replay, 07 November 2007 - 08:37 PM.


#7 Don

Don

    'The Squirrelbasher'

  • Member.
  • 2,473 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:New Forest, Hampshire, England
  • Interests:Movies, computers, motorbikes (big & fast!), & airgun/rimfire hunting
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:New Forest, Hampshire

Posted 08 November 2007 - 06:43 AM

The original MkI probe was not adjustable mate, hence why I changed mine!

Shimming the original will sort out the problem, as Sam said. I would never go back to the original, the adjustable replacement is far better!

Don

#8 Replay

Replay

    Dedicated to stalking DaveL

  • Member.
  • 2,027 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Manchester Area
  • Interests:Computers, Guns, Lathes, Milling Machines.
  • Country:England
  • Region OR County OR State of residence:Manchester

Posted 08 November 2007 - 10:06 AM

Hmm…. if that’s the case Don then I could not agree more.

Replay




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users